Archives of Joy

Manuscripts

In Archives of Joy: Reflections on Animals and the Nature of Being, French Canadian author Jean-François Beauchemin looks back, around and into the mystic, to great effect. His brief and often breathtaking reflections on creatures he has encountered throughout his life meld into a salve for the troubled, weary or distracted mind and will appeal to fans of Brian Doyle, Ross Gay and Margaret Renkl.

In a one-paragraph essay called “Useful,” Beauchemin writes, “It might be said that I am rummaging around a lot in that great big suitcase of my childhood, but why the devil do we age, if it is not to encounter ourselves once more?” In “A Visitor,” he recounts a spiritual encounter from childhood, when “I had just learned my dog’s life expectancy was only fourteen years.” Immediately after reading this piece, I snapped a picture of it and sent it to a friend who is grieving a beloved pup; that’s the kind of small treasure this book is.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Charity awards 9 per cent pay increase to all social care staff
One in six UK adults unaware they can leave legacy gifts in wills
British Muslims giving at least four times the national average to charity
Regulator plans to remove more than 100 charities from the register over late accounts
Hospice charity announces new chief executive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *